Cowboys Release Green, Pettiti, Copper

The Dallas Cowboys released 15 players Saturday, including wide receivers Terrance Copper and Skyler Green along with tackle Rob Petitti, as part of the team's "cut-down day" maneuvers.

Copper and Green fell victim to a numbers crunch within a crowded receiving corps headed by offseason acquisition Terrell Owens.

Copper played in 26 regular season games over the past two seasons with Dallas, catching eight passes and scoring one touchdown while contributing regularly on special teams. Meanwhile Green was a fourth-round 2006 draft choice out of LSU who was expected to compete for return duties, and may resurface on the practice squad.

The biggest surprise may be Petitti, who was cut just one season after starting all 16 games for the Cowboys at right tackle.

The 2005 sixth-round draft choice out of Pittsburgh was beaten out by newcomer Jason Fabini and holdover Marc Colombo on the right side.

Also released by Dallas were the following players: quarterback Matt Baker, guard D'Anthony Batiste, wide receiver Damarius Bilbo, linebacker Rocky Boiman, defensive end Stephen Bowen, tight end Tony Curtis, linebacker Junior Glymph, running back Keylon Kincade, defensive back Willie Pile, tackle Dennis Roland, defensive tackle Montavious Stanley, and center Matthew Tarullo.

Of that group, notables include Boiman, who played in 54 games over the past four seasons with Tennessee; Pile, who appeared in all 16 contests as a Cowboy last season, and Stanley, the team's sixth-round choice in the 2006 draft.

Dallas also announced that safety Marcus Coleman had been suspended without pay for the first four games of the 2006 regular season for violating the NFL Substance Abuse Policy, and that linebacker Carl-Johan Bjork was moved to the club's practice squad as part of the NFL's International Practice Squad Program.

CowboysHQ Top Stories