Cowboys Begin Roster Cuts

The Dallas Cowboys announced the release of 7 players on Monday, just 24 hours before the team must release 6 more as mandated by the National Football League. QB Sam Clemons was released for the second time this preseason.

Sam Clemons, who was also released before the first day of training camp, then brought back for the final week was the first player to be told the news. Clemons, signed as a rookie free agent, never saw action this preseason. He was listed as the 5th string quarterback behind Quincy Carter, Chad Hutchinson, Anthony Wright, and Clint Stoerner.

Long snapper Mitch Palmer, who had just signed with the Cowboys last week was also released. Palmer saw action for all of the punts last weekend against the Atlanta Falcons. He was anything but consistent, sending one punt almost over the head of Filip Filipovic and two more via the bounce.

CB Dashawn Abram, DT Darius Bryant, DT Kevin DeRonde, RB Ray Robinson, and OT Joey Slaten rounded out the Cowboys transactions for Monday. The Cowboys currently have 80 players on the active roster.

CowboysHQ Top Stories