Six Cowboys to play in Pro Bowl

Six members of the Dallas Cowboys were named to the Pro Bowl today, with two earning starting nods and one earning his first trip to the all-star game.

The game will be played in Miami one week before the Super Bowl on Sunday, January 31.

Four Dallas players on offense were selected – WR Miles Austin (first selection), G Leonard Davis (third), C Andre Gurode (fourth) and TE Jason Witten (sixth). Gurode was named as a starter to the NFC squad.

Austin becomes just the second Dallas wide receiver to earn a Pro Bowl trip in the past 14 years -- following Michael Irvin's selection in 1995. Terrell Owens was selected following the 2007 season.

Witten is making his sixth consecutive Pro Bowl appearance, giving him the most appearances by a tight end in club history. Gurode, who is making his fourth straight appearance, has been selected to more Pro Bowls than any other center in club history.

Two defensive players -- Jay Ratliff (second) and DeMarcus Ware (fourth) were also selected. Ware was named as a starter for the fourth straight year.

This season marks the 30th season in which the Cowboys have had five-or-more Pro Bowl selections.

CowboysHQ Top Stories