Wrapping Up The Weekend Moves

The Dolphins got down to the league-mandated roster limited of 53 players on Saturday, but the moves are still coming. The latest occurred on Sunday when Miami claimed tight end Will Yeatman on waivers from the New England Patriots. And don't be shocked if they are more moves to follow before the Sept. 12 opener against New England.

Also on Sunday, the Dolphins signed seven players to the practice squad, and all of them were guy who were released on Saturday.

The seven members of the practice squad are CB Vincent Agnew, TE Brett Brackett, G Garrett Chisolm, QB Pat Devlin, RB Nic Grigsby, T D.J. Jones and WR Julius Pruitt.

Also on Sunday, the Dolphins saw some of the players they released Saturday get claimed off waivers by other teams. Those guys included LB Quinton Spears (Cleveland), TE Mickey Shuler (Cincinnati) and QB Kevin O'Connell.

Released on Sunday to make room for Yeatman was rookie defensive lineman Frank Kearse, who became the first member of the draft class of 2011 to be let go.

The list of players let go on Saturday was highlighted by veterans CB Will Allen, RB Larry Johnson, FB Lousaka Polite, NT Ronald Fields, T Ray Willis and S Gerald Alexander.

The other players waived in addition to the ones signed to the practice squad on Sunday or claimed off waivers were WR Patrick Carter, TE Dedrick Epps, LB Jonathan Freeny, RB Nic Grigsby, T Matt Kopa, WR Phillip Livas, WR John Matthews, CB Nate Ness, LB David Nixon, S Mark Restelli and DE Robert Rose.

As of Sunday evening, the Dolphins roster consisted of 2 quarterbacks, 4 running backs (including FB/TE Charles Clay), 3 tight ends, 6 wide receivers, 9 offensive linemen, 7 defensive linemen, 10 linebackers, 9 defensive backs and 3 specialists.

Dolphins Report Top Stories