Denney Added to Pro Bowl

The Dolphins got a second Pro Bowl selection on Tuesday and there definitely will be a third. John Denney joined teammate Cameron Wake on the AFC team Tuesday when he was selected as the long-snapper by the Denver Broncos coaching staff.

Wake and Denney will be joined by guard Richie Incognito after the AFC Championship Game because he was a first alternate and either Baltimore's Marshal Yanda or New England's Logan Mankins will have to bow out of the game after his team reaches the Super Bowl.

It will be Incognito's first Pro Bowl appearance.

Incognito's place in the Pro Bowl actually was locked in when Baltimore beat Denver on Saturday night because the third guard among the original selection was Houston's Wade Smith, the former Dolphins left tackle.

Once Denver was eliminated, the three AFC teams remaining in contention were Houston, Baltimore and New England, which assured that one of them would have to bow out of the game.

In the meantime, here is the press release announcing Denney's selection to the Pro Bowl:


Miami Dolphins long snapper John Denney has been added to the 2013 AFC Pro Bowl team as the squad's long snapper by the coaching staff of the Denver Broncos, it was announced today.

"John deserves this recognition for his outstanding play this season and I am happy that he will join Cam (Wake) to represent the Dolphins in Hawaii," stated Dolphins Head Coach Joe Philbin.

Denney, an eighth-year pro from Brigham Young served as the Dolphins long snapper in all 16 games in 2012. He is currently tied for second with Jim Langer for most consecutive games played in team history with 128 games in his career. Denney only trails Jason Taylor who played in 130 consecutive games.

"I am very honored to be selected to represent the Miami Dolphins at the 2013 Pro Bowl," said Denney who will be making his second trip to the Pro Bowl. "This selection would not be possible if not for the great support and hard work of the entire special teams unit and coaching staff. I would like to especially like to thank Coach Rizzi (Special Teams Coach Darren Rizzi), Coach Fipp (Assistant Special Teams Coach Dave Fipp) as well as Dan (kicker Dan Carpenter) and Brandon (punter Brandon Fields) without whom this selection would not have been possible. I'm looking forward to representing the organization and joining Cam (Wake) in Hawaii."

The selection of Denney marks the third time a Dolphin player has been added to the Pro Bowl team as a coach's selection in franchise history, as Denney was selected for the 2011 Pro Bowl and linebacker Zach Thomas was chosen in 2000. In addition, Denney's selection is the third time a non-punting or kicking Dolphin special teams player has been named to the AFC Pro Bowl squad in Dolphin history, Denney in 2011and the first was special teamer Larry Izzo, a 2000 selection.

Denney joins defensive end Cameron Wake as Pro Bowl selections from the Miami Dolphins in 2012. The 2013 Pro Bowl will take place on January 27 in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Dolphins Report Top Stories