For a team that is headed to the playoffs and still has an outside chance of winning the AFC East, the Dolphins sure didn't get a whole lot of recognition when it came to selecting this year's Pro Bowl teams.<P>The Dolphins had only two players selected to the team, and three more players wound up being first alternates -- which means they will go if a player bows out of the game because of an injury.

One of the two Dolphins selections was a no-brainer, with Zach Thomas turning in perhaps the best season of his brilliant career. The selection of cornerback Sam Madison was a little more surprising, considering Madison missed three games because of a shoulder injury and has only two interceptions on the season.

The most glaring omission among the Dolphins is defensive end Jason Taylor, who clearly should have been chosen but might have been left out because his 7.5 sacks might not be enough for some of the voters. Taylor was the first alterate at his position, as were safety Brock Marion and kicker Olindo Mare.

The starters for the AFC team will be announced at halftime of the AFC wild-card playoff game shown on ABC on Saturday, Jan. 12. The vote was done by fans, players and coaches, with each counting one-third of the tally.

Dolphins Report Top Stories