Wednesday notes

Defensive end David Bowens was named Wednesday as the Dolphins' recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award, which might not be such a good thing given what happened to the previous five winners.

In fact, you might call it the Ed Block curse.

Just check this out:

Last year's winner was guard Jamie Nails, who wasn't re-signed in the offseason.

The 2002 winner was running back Robert Edwards, who was released in the summer of 2003.

In 2001, the award went to linebacker Scott Galyon, who retired after being injured during the 2002 season.

Going back to 2000, that year's winner was defensive tackle Daryl Gardener, who was released in July of 2002.

Finally, there was linebacker O.J. Brigance, who won in 1999, which turned out to be his last season with the Dolphins.

The award, incidentally, is given annually to a player from each NFL team who displays "extraordinary courage in the fact of adversity."

Bowens missed most of the 2003 season after sustaining a knee injury in June but has started every game at left defensive end this season.

Bowens will be honored at the Ed Block Courage Award banquet in Baltimore in March of 2005. The award is named after the late trainer of the Baltimore Colts.

In other news:

-- LB Zach Thomas has been ruled out of Sunday's game at Denver, meaning Derrick Pope will get his second NFL start.

-- The Dolphins waived RB Leonard Henry on Tuesday, but interim coach Jim Bates said Wednesday that Henry very well might return to the active roster before the end of the season.

-- To take Henry's place, the Dolphins signed RB Brock Forsey, who had been waived Saturday to make room for practice squad call-up Vick King.

Dolphins Report Top Stories