Taylor wins NFL Alumni award

A couple of weeks after being selected to the Pro Bowl, Jason Taylor was honored by the NFL Alumni as the best defensive lineman in the league in 2005.

The award is voted on by former players who can only vote for the position they used to play. Only one player is selected at each position, which makes it more significant in that regard.

Joining Taylor as NFL Alumni Player of the Year honorees were QB Carson Palmer, RB Shaun Alexander, WR Steve Smith, TE Jeremy Shockey, offensive lineman Walter Jones, pass rusher Derrick Burgess, LB Brian Urlacher, DB Champ Bailey and special teams player Jerome Mathis of Houston. Tony Dungy of the Colts was selected as the top coach.

* * *

Running back Ronnie Brown was beaten out for AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year by his former college teammate Carnell "Cadillac" Williams, who actually ran away with the award. Williams got 47 of the 50 votes from writers and sportscasters who cover the NFL, while Brown was one of three players who got one vote apiece.

The other two rookies to get a vote were Pittsburgh tight end Heat Miller and New England offensive lineman Logan Mankins.

San Diego Chargers linebacker Shawne Merriman was named the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year, and no Dolphins player got a vote for the award.

* * *

The Dolphins on Wednesday signed seven players who finished the season on their practice squad, and also re-signed quarterback Brock Berlin.

The seven former practice squad players signed were WR Chris Davis, WR Fred Gibson, RB Kay-Jay Harris, DB Jack Hunt, TE Jason Rader, OL Orrin Thompson and WR Jason Willis.

Berlin, Davis and Thompson have been allocated to the NFL Europe League.

Dolphins Report Top Stories