Dolphins Make Roster Moves

Veteran Fred Beasley and rookie quarterback/wide receiver Marcus Vick were the biggest names among the 20 players released Saturday as the Dolphins got down to the 53-man roster limit. The Dolphins actually got down to 52 players, one below the limit.

Along with Vick, other players waived included WR Devin Aromashodu, G C.J. Brooks, WR Fred Gibson, RB Kay-Jay Harris, TE Keith Heinrich, S Jack Hunt, DE Ben Ishola, TE Teyo Johnson, CB Shirdonya Mitchell, T Tony Pape, RB Gerald Riggs, Jr., DT Josh Shaw, LB Matt Sinclair, CB Chris Thompson and T Orrin Thompson, while veteran wide receiver Kelly Campbell was waived/injured.

Players whose contracts were terminated included FB Fred Beasley, S Deke Cooper, LB Sedrick Hodge and T Mike Pearson.

Defensive tackle Manuel Wright was placed on the reserve/non-football injury list, while running back Sammy Morris was put on the reserve/suspended list.

"These are always difficult decisions and are made in the best interests of the team," said Coach Nick Saban. "We appreciate the contributions each of these players made, and we thank them for their efforts."

The moves left the Dolphins with three quarterbacks, three running backs, five wide receivers, three tight ends, 10 offensive linemen, 10 defensive linemen, six linebackers, nine defensive backs and three specialists.

Dolphins Report Top Stories