Dolphins' Official Free Agent List

With the start of free agency on Friday morning at 12:01 a.m., the Dolphins' complete list of free agents became official -- and it includes a couple of surprises among the 20 names on it.

We already knew the Dolphins had 14 unrestricted free agents among veterans of four NFL seasons or more whose contract had expired -- LB Keith Adams, FB Darian Barnes, DE David Bowens, G Toniu Fonoti, G Kendyl Jacox, CB Michael Lehan, QB Shane Matthews, T Damion McIntosh, RB Travis Minor, RB Sammy Morris, LB Donnie Spragan, S Travares Tillman, NT Keith Traylor and DT JEff Zgonina.

We also knew the Dolphins had four restricted free agents in DB Yeremiah Bell, P Donnie Jones, QB Cleo Lemon and WR Welker.

But the Dolphins added two more free agents when they declined to make a qualifying offer to two players -- DT Kevin Vickerson and CB Eddie Jackson. Those two players now will be free to sign with any other team with the Dolphins not getting any compensation.

The same goes for the unrestricted free agents.

As for the restricted free agents, the Dolphins can match any offer made -- the deadline to sign RFAs, incidentally, is April 20 at 11:59 p.m. The Dolphins also tendered qualifying offers large enough to get compensation should another team sign one of the RFAs to an offer sheet.

The compensation would be a second-round pick for Bell, Lemon and Welker. The compensation should another team sign Jones and the Dolphins decide not to match would be a seventh-round pick. The compensation level, incidentally, is determined by the amount of the tender.

Dolphins Report Top Stories