Award Night

The Dolphins were having their annual banquet on Thursday night, at which time they were going to announce the team's 2006 MVP. Oh, the suspense. Who could it possibly be?

Of course, we joke, because everybody knew that the winner would be Jason Taylor. He was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year, after all.

What's interesting is that Taylor also earned the team's Leadership Award.

The other award was for community service, and it went to safety Renaldo Hill.

The Dan Marino MVP Award is voted upon by the South Florida media, and this is the fourth time that Taylor has come away with the honor, have also been recognized for his performance in 2000, 2002 and 2004.

The Don Shula Leadership Award, meanwhile, is voted upon by Dolphins players, and this is the second time Taylor has been recognized with this accolade (2002).

WRIGHT MOVE: Manuel Wright's lack of commitment was a big reason the new Dolphins regime finally decided to let him go this week, but his massive potential was the reason he wasn't out of a job very long.

A day after being let go by the Bills, Wright was claimed off waivers by the Buffalo Bills. Let's see now if Wright can get his career on track.

ALSO GONE: In addition to Wright, the Dolphins also let go WR Marcus Vick and LB Bobby Iwuchukwu.

Vick, who might have had a shot at the punt returning job, wasn't helped by the Dolphins' selection of Ted Ginn Jr. in the first round of the 2007 draft.

UNDER THE KNIFE: Two Dolphins who will miss this weekend's minicamp after undergoing minor surgery are NT Keith Traylor and T Anthony Alabi. Traylor had surgery on an ankle, while Alabi had knee surgery.

ROOKIE FREE AGENTS: The Dolphins still haven't released their list of undrafted rookie signings, but we know seven of them: T Julius Wilson from UAB; WR Michael Malone from Sam Houston State; DE Mkristo Bruce from Washington State; DT Marquay Love from Houston; LB Ed Miles from Iowa; G Stephen Parker from Arkansas; and T Marion Dukes from Clemson.

Dolphins Report Top Stories