Brown Gets Award; Two Released

The Dolphins announced on Wednesday that Ronnie Brown, who came back last season from a torn ACL to lead the team in rushing and scoring, had been named the club's recipient of the 2008 Ed Block Courage Award. The team also confirmed the release of two young players who ended last season on injured reserve.

Let go were guard Matt McChesney and linebacker Kelvin Smith. Smith was a seventh-round pick in 2006 who spent his rookie season on the practice squad before spending all of last year on IR.

Back to Brown, he succeeded cornerback Andre' Goodman as the team's Ed Block Courage Award winner. The award is given to a player from each team who "displays extraordinary courage in the face of adversity."

Brown and the other 31 winners will be recognized at the 31st annual Ed Block Courage Award banquet on March 10 in Baltimore.

Dolphins Report Top Stories