Lone Pro Bowl Pick

Given their 7-8 record, we shouldn't have expected the Dolphins to have that many players to the AFC Pro Bowl team, yet it still was disappointing to find out that they were able to place only one player on the team.

That honor belongs to tackle Jake Long, who not only made the team but also was selected as a starter alongside Denver's Ryan Clady.

"I want to thank the players, coaches and fans around the league who voted me as a starter," Long said. "I am looking forward to representing the Dolphins, especially since the game will be played in Miami. It will be a special thrill to run out of the tunnel onto our own field. But this isn't an individual award. I know I wouldn't be here without the help of my teammates, especially on the offensive line, as well as Coach Sparano and Coach ‘Guge' (OL coach David DeGuglielmo)."

The first overall pick in the 2008 draft, Long has started every game for the Dolphins the past two years. He joins Richmond Webb as the only Dolphins tackles to be named Pro Bowl starters.

BLOCK FOR SMILEY: Guard Justin Smiley was named Tuesday as the winner of the team's 2009 Ed Block Courage Award. The award is given annually to a player from each NFL team who have been selected by their teammates for their extraordinary courage in the face of adversity.

Smiley, who returned this season after sustaining a season-ending foot injury last November at St. Louis, will be honored along with the other winners from other teams at a March banquet in Baltimore.

Dolphins Report Top Stories