Eagles Trim Roster to 53 Players

The Eagles had some tough decisions to make as they cut their roster down to the 53-player limit on Saturday. Details on who was sent packing inside.

After weeks of battling in the heat during training camp and auditioning in preseason games, the Eagles released 12 players today and placed two on injured reserve to get down to the league-mandated roster limit of 53.

Most of the lineup changes the team made were predictable, but some of the more unexpected names on the final cut list were veteran guard Scott Young and defensive end Jerome McDougle.

Young was selected by the Eagles in the fifth-round of the 2005 draft out of BYU and was a valuable reserve on the offensive line for the last few seasons. He played in a career-high 12 games during the 2006 season, including the NFC Divisional Playoff Game against the New Orleans Saints.

Although he had a disappointing career with the team, the release of McDougle was also surprising because of how good he looked in training camp and his performance during the preseason.

The Eagles actually traded up to get McDougle with the 15th overall pick in the 2003 draft, but various injuries, including a gun shot wound in 2005 that caused him to miss the entire season, plagued his tenure with the team.

After spending the 2007 season on injured reserve with a triceps injury, McDougle looked in great shape during training camp this year and led the team in sacks during the preseason with 2.5, but the Eagles were too deep at defensive end to keep him on the roster.

The two players who were placed on injured reserve were rookies King Dunlap (ankle) and Mike Gibson (shoulder). Dunlap was a seventh-round selection in this year's draft out of Auburn and is considered a promising prospect at tackle because of his massive 6-foot-8 frame. Gibson, an All-Pac-10 honorable mention during his senior year at Cal, was a sixth-round pick this year.

Here is the Eagles' final cut list:

CB Kyle Arrington

WR Bam Childress

FB Jed Collins

FB Jason Davis

CB Therrian Fontenot

WR Michael Gasperson

CB Nick Graham

S Marcus Pachal

WR Jamal Jones

WR Shaheer McBride

DT Montae Reagor

DT Mike Marquardt

DE Jerome McDougle

RB Ryan Moats

G Stefan Rogers

LB Justin Roland

G Scott Young

LB Pago Togafu

LB Andrew Studebaker

TE Kris Wilson

Andrew Pluta can be reached at ajp8231@gmail.com

War Nest Top Stories