Falcons Release Seven Players

On the day after the preseason finale, and one day before they have to trim their roster down to 53, the Atlanta Falcons release seven players.

The Atlanta Falcons announced that they have released seven players, including offensive lineman Ben Wilkerson.

Joining Wilkerson today were safety Eric Brock, cornerbacks Glenn Sharpe and Tony Tiller, offensive tackle Adam Speer, guard Ryan Stanchek, and wide receiver Chandler Williams.

Wilkerson had been with the team the longest, appearing in 29 games over the last two seasons.

Sharpe and Williams each spent time in 2008 on the Falcons' practice squad, while Tiller joined the team in February after spending the early part of his career playing in the CFL and Arena Football League.

Stanchek and Speer were signed as undrafted free agents.

The Falcons have until 4pm ET on Saturday to cut their roster down to 53 players.

In addition to writing for FalconInsider.com, Brian blogs daily at (www.macsfootballblog.com). If you'd like to e-mail Brian, you may do so here.

Falcon Insider Top Stories