Former New York Jets center Kevin Mawae was not among this year's Hall of Fame finalist

The finalist for this year's NFL Hall of Fame have been announced and Kevin Mawae was not included

The announcement of the finalist for this year's class for the NFL's Hall of Fame was announced and while there were 15 more than worthy names that made the case there were also, as always, many other worthy players who didn't quite make the cut. One of those worthy names that was left out of this year's finalist is former Jets center Kevin Mawae.

Mawae played 16 seasons in the NFL including eight seasons with the Jets, for the large majority of Mawae's career he was among the best centers in the league and he was revered by his coaches and teammates for his leadership as well as his high level of play. Mawae is an eight time Pro Bowler and was named to the NFL's All-Pro team three times.

This was Mawae's second year of eligibility for the Hall of Fame and he was one of 25 names that made the list as semifinalists. So, while Mawae won't be fitted for a mustard jacket this year his time will certainly come. Often times in the NFL we ignore the greatness of offensive linemen but by the time the discussion turns to the Hall of Fame the NFL tends to get it right and there's no reason to think anything will be different with Mawae.

Brett Favre and Alan Faneca, who both have ties to the Jets, are among the 15 finalist for this year's class. Other names include Terrell OwensMorten Andersen, Steve Atwater, Dan Coryell, Terrell DavisTony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison, Joe Jacoby, Edgerrin JamesJohn LynchOrlando Pace and Kurt Warner. A maximum of eight players will be able to make the Hall of Fame in any given year and they need to receive a minimum of 80 percent of yes votes from the selection panel to become enshrined as an ultimate NFL legend.


Green and White Report Top Stories