JetsInsider.com Photo

The New York Jets 2016 schedule has been released

The 2016 schedule has been released and once again the Jets have a difficult opening stretch

The Jets still don't know who their quarterback is going to be for the 2016 season so I'm not about to sit here and go win/loss through the schedule or anything but it's fair to say the Jets start the season with a brutal opening stretch. 

Six of the Jets first nine games are on the road. Five of their first six games are against teams that made the playoffs last year and the one team that didn't is Rex Ryan's Bills who obviously beat the Jets twice last year and prevented them from making the playoffs.

If you're thinking 'well, okay so the opening stretch is tough but at least the back end should be easy' that's an understandable mistake but it's still a mistake. Yes, the schedule does get a little easier once Week 8 (at Cleveland) rolls around and five of their last seven games are at home but the Jets play the Patriots twice in the last six games and once again close out the season against the Bills.

Below is the entire 2016 schedule.

1) Sunday, Sept. 11 home vs Bengals 1 pm CBS

2) Thursday, Sept. 15 at Bills 8:25 pm CBS

3) Sunday, Sept. 25 at Chiefs 4:25 pm CBS

4) Sunday, Oct. 2 vs Seahawks 1 pm FOX

5) Sunday, Oct. 9 at Steelers 1 pm CBS

6) Monday, Oct. 17 at Cardinals 8:30 pm ESPN

7) Sunday, Oct. 23 vs Ravens 1 pm CBS

8) Sunday, Oct. 30 at Cleveland 1 pm CBS

9) Sunday, Nov. 6 at Dolphins 1 pm CBS

10) Sunday, Nov. 13 vs Rams 1 pm FOX

11) BYE

12) Sunday, Nov. 27 vs Patriots 8:30 pm NBC

13) Monday, Dec. 5 vs Colts 8:30 pm ESPN

14) Sunday, Dec. 11 at 49ers 4:05 pm CBS

15) Saturday, Dec. 17 vs Dolphins 8:25 NFL Network

16) Saturday, Dec. 24 at Patriots 1 pm CBS

17) Sunday, Jan. 1 vs Bills

With the Jets playing the NFC west we knew they would have to travel to the west coast twice, at least the week six game vs the Cardinals is a Monday night game but it is still against the Cardinals. Somewhat surprisingly the Jets get five prime time games. One Thursday night game against the Bills in Buffalo, a Sunday night at home vs the Patriots, the Monday night game in Arizona and they play the Colts on Monday night again but this time at home and they play a Saturday night game at home against the Dolphins.

This is not, by any stretch, and easy schedule for the Jets but if they can somehow manage to go 3-3 in their first six games there's enough winnable games in there that 10 wins is realistic. But before we go predicting records it would certainly help to know who the quarterback will be.

***

Chris Nimbley is the Editor-in-Chief of JetsInsider.com/NYJScout.com. He can be reached on Twitter (@cnimbley), or via email (cnimbley@gmail.com)


Jets Insider Top Stories