Super Bowl officials named

Referee Tony Corrente has been named to head the seven-man crew of game officials selected to work Super Bowl XLI at Dolphin Stadium.

The other members of the Super Bowl XLI officiating crew are Carl Paganelli (umpire), George Hayward (head linesman), Ron Marinucci (line judge), Jim Saracino (field judge), John Parry (side judge), and Perry Paganelli (back judge). The Super Bowl XLI officiating crew collectively has 73 years of NFL officiating experience and 52 combined postseason game assignments.

This is the first Super Bowl assignment for Corrente (pronounced "cor-REN-tee"), who is concluding his 12th season as an NFL game official. The Cal State-Fullerton alum served as the alternate referee in last year's Super Bowl. Carl and Perry Paganelli become the first pair of brothers ever assigned to officiate a Super Bowl.

Under the NFL officiating program's evaluation system, the highest-rated officials at each position with the appropriate experience earn the right to work the Super Bowl. Super Bowl officials must have five years of NFL experience and previous playoff assignments.

Mark Burns is the replay assistant and will be working his second Super Bowl. Jeff Triplette, Butch Hannah, Carl Johnson, Buddy Horton, and Rich Reels will serve as alternate officials.

Jets Insider Top Stories