Butler Among Pro HOF Nominees

LeRoy Butler, Ron Wolf and Kevin Greene are among the 113 preliminary nominees for the Class of 2011. Sterling Sharpe has been off of the list.

Former Packers safety LeRoy Butler, former Packers general manager Ron Wolf and current Packers outside linebackers coach Kevin Greene are among the 113 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2011.

Also nominated is Clay Matthews, the father of Packers outside linebacker Clay Matthews III. Sterling Sharpe is no longer nominated.

First-year eligible nominees

Running Backs – Jerome Bettis, Marshall Faulk, Curtis Martin.

Wide Receiver – Jimmy Smith.

Offensive Lineman – Willie Roaf (T).

Cornerback – Deion Sanders (also KR/PR).

Coach – Dick Vermeil.


Additional nominees

*On 2010 17 finalists list

Quarterbacks – Ken Anderson, Jim Plunkett, Phil Simms, Doug Williams.

Running Backs – Ottis Anderson, Larry Centers, *Roger Craig, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Brian Mitchell (also KR/PR), Gerald Riggs, Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters.

Wide Receivers – *Tim Brown, *Cris Carter, Gary Clark, Henry Ellard, Herman Moore, Stanley Morgan, Mike Quick, *Andre Reed, J.T. Smith.

Tight Ends – Mark Bavaro, Todd Christensen, Ben Coates, Russ Francis, Brent Jones, *Shannon Sharpe, Frank Wycheck.

Offensive Linemen – Bruce Armstrong (T), Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), *Dermontti Dawson (C), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey(T), Steve Wisniewski (G).

Defensive Linemen – Al "Bubba" Baker (DE), Dave Butz (DE/DT), Ray Childress (DT/DE), *Richard Dent (DE), Chris Doleman (DE/LB), *Charles Haley (DE/LB), Ed "Too Tall" Jones (DE), *Cortez Kennedy (DT), Joe Klecko (DE/DT/NT), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT).

Linebackers – Cornelius Bennett, Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Darryl Talley.

Defensive Backs – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Bill Bates (S/ST), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Kenny Easley (S), Lester Hayes (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), Frank Minnifield (CB), Donnie Shell (S), Aeneas Williams (CB/S), Darren Woodson (S), Louis Wright (CB).

Kickers/Punters – Gary Anderson (K), Ray Guy (P), Nick Lowery (K), Reggie Roby (P).

Special Teams – Steve Tasker (ST/WR).

Coaches – Bud Carson, *Don Coryell, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Dan Reeves, Clark Shaughnessy.

Contributors – K.S. "Bud" Adams, Jr., Bobby Beathard, Leo Carlin, Jack Kent Cooke, Otho Davis, Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Ron Gibbs, Ole Haugsrud, Frank "Bucko" Kilroy, Art McNally, Art Modell, Bill Nunn, Joe Robbie, Art Rooney, Jr., Carroll Rosenbloom, Ed Sabol, Steve Sabol, Paul Tagliabue, Ron Wolf, George Young.

Packer Report Top Stories