House Travels Compensatory Path

The Packers took cornerback Davon House with the fourth-round compensatory pick awarded after they lost Aaron Kampman in free agency last year. The Packers have done well with those bonus picks, as Len Pasquarelli's all-compensatory team shows.

Aaron Kampman was one of the more beloved players in recent Green Bay Packers history. Fans appreciated the blue-collar work ethic that helped the fifth-round draft pick become the fourth-leading sacker in franchise history.

But Kampman's free agent departure last offseason didn't matter in the least, with a potpourri of players filling Kampman's shoes for a championship-winning defense that finished second in the NFL in points allowed and sacks.

So, if the player acquired with the fourth-round compensatory pick given for losing Kampman, cornerback Davon House, pans out, then the Packers' loss will wind up being the Packers' gain.

The 6-foot-1 House, with 11 career interceptions at New Mexico State, has the tools to be a major contributor after playing football for just two years in high school.

"He's got everything physically that you can seek in a cornerback," Packers director of college scouting John Dorsey told Packer Report on Friday. "He is going to be lucky and blessed to have mentoring him a Charles Woodson, a Tramon (Williams), and Joe Whitt coaching him. He'll understand what it takes to be a winner, so I would expct him to buy into what we're trying to do here quickly and then begin to make strides. They say he's got the ‘want" to be a really good player. We'll see."

Green Bay has done about as well as any team in terms of finding gems with compensatory picks. Tyrone Williams, Marco Rivera (both 1996), Cletidus Hunt, Josh Bidwell (both 1999), David Martin (2001), Najeh Davenport (2002), Scott Wells (2004), Tony Moll (2006) and Josh Sitton (2008) emerged as full- or part-time starters. Plus, Matt Hasselbeck (1998) and Aaron Brooks (1999) emerged as starters after being traded from Green Bay.

Before the draft, a league general manager told The Sports Xchange's Len Pasquarelli that he could make "a pretty fair" all-star team from the players who entered the NFL as compensatory selections since the league began awarding the additional picks in 1994.

Pasquarelli took the bait, with Wells and Rivera earning "starting" positions. Some positions — defensive end and cornerback, in particular — were considerably more difficult to fill. At a few others, though, there were some tough decisions. So, a very subjective look at the all-compensatory team:


WR - Hines Ward (third round, Pittsburgh, 1998) and Marques Colston (seventh, New Orleans, 2006).

Honorable mention: Derrick Alexander (first, Cleveland, 1994), Bert Emanuel (second, Atlanta, 1994), Pierre Garcon (sixth, Indianapolis, 2008).

TE - Jay Riemersma (seventh, Buffalo, 1996).

Honorable mention: Brandon Manumaleuna (fourth, St. Louis, 2001).

OT - Jonas Jennings (third, Buffalo, 2001) and Willie Colon (fourth, Pittsburgh, 2006).

Honorable mention: Nick Kaczur (third, New England, 2005), Kevin Shaffer (seventh, Atlanta, 2002), Tony Pashos (fifth, Baltimore, 2003).

OG - Larry Allen (second, Dallas, 1994) and Marco Rivera (sixth, Green Bay, 1996).

Honorable mention: Kyle Kosier (seventh, San Francisco, 2002), Edwin Mulitalo (fourth, Baltimore, 1994), Vaughn Parker (second, San Diego, 1994), Josh Sitton (fourth, Green Bay, 2008).

C - Scott Wells (seventh, Green Bay, 2004).

Honorable mention: Eugene Amano (seventh, Tennessee, 2004), Tim Ruddy (second, Miami, 1994).

QB - Tom Brady (sixth, New England, 2000).

Honorable mention: Aaron Brooks (fourth, Green Bay, 1999), Matt Hasselbeck (sixth, Green Bay, 1998).

RB - Chester Taylor (sixth, Baltimore, 2002).

Honorable mention: Ahmad Bradshaw (seventh, N.Y. Giants, 2007), Derrick Ward (seventh, N.Y. Giants, 2004), Amos Zereoue (third, Pittsburgh, 1999).

FB - Ovie Mughelli (fourth, Baltimore, 2003).

Honorable mention: Le'Ron McClain (fourth, Baltimore, 2007), Madison Hedgecock (seventh, St. Louis, 2005), Patrick Pass (seventh, New England, 2000),Charles Way (sixth, N.Y. Giants, 1995).


DE - Rob Meier (seventh, Jacksonville, 2000) and Bryce Fisher (seventh, Buffalo, 1999).

Honorable mention: Bobby McCray (seventh, Jacksonville, 2004).

DT - La'Roi Glover (fifth, Oakland, 1996) and Jason Fisk (seventh, Minnesota, 1995).

Honorable mention: Terdell Sands (seventh, Kansas City, 2001).

LB - Scott Shanle (seventh, St. Louis, 2003).

LB - Al Singleton (fourth, Tampa Bay, 1997).

LB - Mike Vrabel (third, Pittsburgh, 1997).

Honorable mention: Brandon Chillar (fourth, St. Louis, 2004), Danny Clark (seventh, Jacksonville, 2000), Leroy Hill (third, Seattle, 2005), Derrick Rodgers (third, Miami, 1997), Sam Rogers (second, Buffalo, 1994), Clint Session (fourth, Indianapolis, 2007).

CB - Domonique Foxworth (third, Denver, 2005) and Frank Walker (sixth, N.Y. Giants, 2003).

Honorable mention: William Gay (fifth, Pittsburgh, 2007).

S - Brian Dawkins (second, Philadelphia, 1996) and Antoine Bethea (sixth, Indianapolis, 2006).

Honorable mention: Yeremiah Bell (sixth, Miami, 2003), Thomas DeCoud (third, Atlanta, 2008), Marlon McCree (seventh, Jacksonville, 2001), Chinedum Ndukwe (seventh, Cincinnati, 2007), Pat Tillman (seventh, Arizona, 1998).


K - Ryan Succop (seventh, Kansas City, 2009).

Honorable mention: Doug Brien (third, San Francisco, 1994), David Buehler (fifth, Dallas, 2009).

P - Brad Maynard (third, N.Y. Giants, 1997).

Honorable mention: Mitch Berger (sixth, Philadelphia, 1994), Josh Bidwell (fourth, Green Bay, 1999), Dustin Colquitt (third, Kansas City, 2005), Sam Koch (sixth, Baltimore, 2006).

LS - Patrick Mannelly (sixth, Chicago, 1998).

Honorable mention: None.

Ret - Rock Cartwright (seventh, Washington, 2002).

Honorable mention: None.

ST - David Tyree (sixth, N.Y. Giants, 2003).

Honorable mention: None.

Agree or disagree?: Discuss hot Packers topics in our, free forums. Leave publisher Bill Huber a question in the subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum.

Len Pasquarelli is a Senior NFL Writer for The Sports Xchange. He has covered the NFL for 33 years and is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee. His NFL coverage earned recognition as the winner of the McCann Award for distinguished reporting in 2008.

Packer Report Top Stories