Training camp schedule announced

Because they are playing in the annual Hall of Fame Game, the Green Bay Packers will open training camp about a week earlier than usual this season. The Packers announced the dates of their upcoming June minicamp and training camp, along with practices that are open to the public, on Wednesday.<p>

The Packers will conduct their June minicamp beginning next Monday, June 2. The non-mandatory camp will continue through June 11. Rookie first-round draft pick Nick Barnett and defensive tackle James Lee will not attend the camp because spring classes at Oregon State continue through mid-June.

Rookies and first-year players will report for training camp on July 18 and begin practicing in shorts the next day. Veterans are expected to report on July 20. The team is scheduled to conduct physical testing on July 21 for all players before the hitting begins on July 22.

The Packers will conduct their open practices on either Clarke Hinkle Field or Ray Nitschke Field, across from Lambeau Field. In case of poor weather or field conditions, the practices be moved inside the Don Hutson Center, where workouts are closed to the public because of space limitations.

The Packers said that some restaurants in the Atrium as well as the Packers Pro Shop will be open in time for training camp. However, neither the Packers Hall of Fame nor the Lambeau Field stadium tours will be available as workers put the finishing touches on the $295 million stadium renovation project.

Here are the times and dates for each training camp practice:

Fri, July 18: rookies and first-year players travel - no practice

Sat, July 19: no morning practice; 2:30 - 3:45 pm (shorts)

Sun, July 20: 10:30 - 11:45 am (shorts); 2:30 - 3:45 pm (shorts) Sun, July 20: Veteran Players travel

Mon, July 21: physical testing - no practice scheduled

Tues, July 22: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:40 pm (pads)

Wed, July 23: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:40 pm (shells)

Thurs, July 24: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:40 pm (pads)

Fri, July 25: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:15 - 3:15 pm (special teams)

Sat, July 26: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Sun, July 27: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:15 - 3:15 pm (special teams)

Mon, July 28: No morning practice. Evening practice held inside Lambeau Field (closed to the public)

Tues, July 29: no morning practice; 2:45 - 4:30 pm (shells)

Wed, July 30: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Thurs, July 31: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:15 - 3:15 pm (special teams)

Fri, Aug. 1: 8:45 - 11:15 am (shells); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Sat, Aug. 2: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Sun, Aug. 3: practice held inside Lambeau Field (closed to the public)

Mon, Aug. 4: PRESEASON GAME VS K.C. CHIEFS AT CANTON, OHIO - 7 pm CDT

Tues, Aug. 5: players off - no practice

Wed, Aug. 6: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:15 - 3:15 pm (special teams)

Thurs, Aug. 7: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Fri, Aug. 8: practice held inside Lambeau Field (closed to the public)

Sat, Aug. 9: PRESEASON GAME AT ATLANTA FALCONS - 7 pm CDT

Sun, Aug. 10: players off - no practice

Mon, Aug. 11: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Tues, Aug. 12: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:15 - 3:15 pm (special teams)

Wed, Aug. 13: 8:45 - 11:15 am (shells); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Thurs, Aug. 14: practice held inside Lambeau Field (closed to the public)

Fri, Aug. 15: PRESEASON GAME AT CLEVELAND BROWNS - 7 pm CDT

Sat, Aug. 16: players off - no practice

Sun, Aug. 17: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:15 - 3:15 pm (special teams)

Mon, Aug. 18: 8:45 - 10:15 am (shells); 2:15 - 4:30 pm (pads)

Tues, Aug. 19: no morning practice; 2:15 - 4:30 pm (pads)

Wed, Aug. 20: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:15 - 3:15 pm (special teams)

Thurs, Aug. 21: 8:45 - 11:15 am (pads); 2:45 - 4:10 pm (shells)

Fri, Aug. 22: practice held inside Lambeau Field (closed to the public)

Sat, Aug. 23: HOME PRESEASON GAME VS. CAROLINA PANTHERS - 7 pm CDT

Sun, Aug. 24: players off - no practice

Mon, Aug. 25: 11:10 am - 12:00 noon (shells); 1:30 - 3:30 pm (pads)

Tues, Aug. 26: 11 am - 1:30 pm (shells); no afternoon practice

Wed, Aug. 27: practice held inside Lambeau Field (closed to the public)

Thurs, Aug. 28: HOME PRESEASON GAME VS. TENNESSEE TITANS - 7 pm CDT

NOTE: After Aug. 26, all practices are closed to the public for the remainder of the season. All dates and times (CDT) are tentative. Not all players participate in special teams practices.

Any practices moved inside to the Don Hutson Center due to inclement weather, poor field conditions or for other reasons will be closed to the public due to space limitations. All other practices will be open to the public unless indicated otherwise. Practices will rotate between Clarke Hinkle Field (adjacent to Oneida Street) and Ray Nitschke Field (across the street from the Resch Center on Packer Drive) on a periodic basis.


Packer Report Top Stories