History of the 26th Selection

The Packers own the 26th pick of the draft, and there is a strong history for landing a good player. Among the best of the No. 26 selections: Clay Matthews.

The Green Bay Packers hold the 26th selection when the draft begins on April 25. They also have picks in the second (No. 55), third (No. 88), fourth (No. 122), fifth (Nos. 159, 167), sixth (No. 193) and seventh rounds (232).

Here is the history of selection No. 26, with statistical data from ProFootballReference.com.

The last 10 picks

Year: Player, Position, Team (Career stats or awards)

2012: Whitney Mercilus, OLB Houston. (Six sacks.)

2011: Jonathan Baldwin, WR, Kansas City. (41 receptions, 579 yards, two touchdowns.)

2010: Dan Williams, DT, Arizona. (21 starts, all over last two seasons.)

2009: Clay Matthews, OLB, Green Bay. (42.5 sacks, three Pro Bowls.)

2008: Duane Brown, OT, Houston. (Started 75 of 80 games.)

2007: Anthony Spencer, OLB/DE, Dallas. (32.5 sacks.)

2006: John McCargo, DT, Buffalo. (Out of league with one career start in six seasons.)

2005: Chris Spencer, C/G, Seattle. (89 starts, including 19 for Chicago the past two seasons.)

2004: Chris Perry, RB, Cincinnati. (Out of league with 606 rushing yards in five seasons.)

2003: Kwame Harris, OT, San Francisco. (Out of league with 55 starts in six seasons.)

Packers at No. 26

Matthews (2009); Bill Lueck, G (1968); LB John Anderson (1978); LB George Cumby (1980); DT Ron Kostelnik (1961). Kostelnik was inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame in 1989 and Anderson in 1996. Kostelnik started from 1964 through 1968 and was part of all five of the Glory Years champions. Anderson's 1,020 career tackles is a franchise leader and he was a member of the NFL's all-1980s team.

Hall of Fame

Joe DeLamielleure, G, Buffalo (1973). Six-time Pro Bowler started 175 games in 12 seasons and was a key figure on the Electric Company running game powered by O.J. Simpson.

Will be in Hall of Fame

Ray Lewis (1997). The recently retired Lewis was named to 13 Pro Bowls in his 14 seasons, retiring with 41.5 sacks, 31 interceptions and two Super Bowl rings.

Pro Bowlers

13 — Lewis. 9 — Alan Faneca, G, Pittsburgh (1998). 6 — DeLamielleure. 5 — Kent Hill, G, Rams (1979). 3 — Matthews; Dana Stubblefield, DT, San Francisco (1993); Robert Porcher, DE, Detroit (1992); Dan Mosebar, C, Oakland (1983). 2 — Lito Sheppard, CB, Philadelphia (2002); Wray Carlton, HB, Philadelphia (1959); Bill Walsh, C, Pittsburgh (1949). 1 — Henry Jones, DB, Buffalo (1991); Jim Harbaugh, QB, Chicago (1987); Greg Bell, RB, Buffalo (1984); Dave Brown, DB, Pittsburgh (1975); Dave Foley, OT, N.Y. Jets (1969); Bobby Maples, C, Houston (1965); John Shirk, E, Cardinals (1940).

Agree or disagree?: Discuss hot Packers topics in our, free forums. Leave Bill a question in the subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum.

Bill Huber is publisher of Packer Report magazine and PackerReport.com and has written for Packer Report since 1997. E-mail him at packwriter2002@yahoo.com, or leave him a question in Packer Report's subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum. Find Bill on Twitter at twitter.com/PackerReport.

Packer Report Top Stories