Favre, Sharpe, Butler, Holmgren Among Hall of Fame Nominees

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2016 will be selected on Feb. 6.

Brett Favre, Sterling Sharpe, LeRoy Butler and Mike Holmgren are among the 108 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016.

Favre, who was inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame this summer, is the NFL’s career leader in completions, attempts and passing yards and ranks second in touchdown passes. He helped the Packers win Super Bowl XXXI and is a three-time NFL MVP.

Sharpe’s career was cut short by injury but he ranks second in franchise history with 595 receptions and 65 touchdowns and third with 8,134 receiving yards. While the record has been broken, Sharpe set the league mark with 108 receptions in 1992, then broke it with 112 grabs in 1993.

Butler was a four-time first-team All-Pro who recorded 38 interceptions and 20.5 sacks in 12 seasons. He was the first defensive back in NFL history to record 20 interceptions and 20 sacks for his career.

Mike Holmgren led the Packers to victory in Super Bowl XXXI and got the Packers to Super Bowl XXXII. He also led Seattle to a Super Bowl berth.

Also on the ballot are former Packers safety Darren Sharper, former Packers linebackers coach Kevin Greene and Clay Matthews’ father, Clay Jr.

The modern-era nominees will be trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November and 15 finalists in January. Those 15 will be joined by senior candidates Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel and contributor candidate Edward DeBartolo Jr. The Class of 2016 will be selected on Feb. 6 — the day before Super Bowl 50.

Here’s the list from the Hall of Fame:

*Finalist in 2015; CAPS UNDERLINED indicate first year of eligibility

Drew Bledsoe, BRETT FAVRE, Steve McNair, Phil Simms, Vinny Testaverde, *Kurt Warner

Shaun Alexander, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, *Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Edgerrin James, Daryl Johnston, Jamal Lewis, CLINTON PORTIS, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters, BRIAN WESTBROOK

Isaac Bruce, Gary Clark, Henry Ellard (also PR), *Marvin Harrison, Torry Holt, TERRELL OWENS, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith

Mark Bavaro, Jay Novacek

Tony Boselli (T), Jeff Bostic (C), Jim Covert (T), ALAN FANECA (G), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T), Jon Jansen (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Mark May (G/T/C), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), *Orlando Pace (T), Chris Samuels (T), Mark Schlereth (G), Steve Wisniewski (G)

Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Leslie O’Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT), Bryant Young (DT)

Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, KEITH BULLUCK, *Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey, Levon Kirkland, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Matt Millen, Sam Mills, Zach Thomas, MIKE VRABEL

Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), *John Lynch (S), LAWYER MILLOY (SS), DARREN SHARPER (FS), Shawn Springs (CB), Troy Vincent (CB/S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)

*Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), JOHN CARNEY (K), Jason Elam (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)

ETHAN ALBRIGHT (LS), Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB), Steve Tasker (also WR)

*Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, *Tony Dungy, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, *Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Pete Rodriguez, Lou Saban, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

Bill Huber is publisher of and has written for Packer Report since 1997. E-mail him at or leave him a question in Packer Report’s subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum. Find Bill on Twitter at

Packer Report Top Stories