Jeff Hanisch/USA TODAY

Jim Taylor, Jayrone Elliott Announcing Packers’ Picks

The NFL will use legends for second-round picks and Walter Payton Man of the Year nominees for the third round.

The Green Bay Packers will have a legend and one of their good guys announcing their Day 2 draft picks.

The NFL has former players announcing second-round picks. For Green Bay, that means Hall of Fame running back Jim Taylor. Taylor rushed for 8,207 yards and 83 touchdowns in nine seasons for the Packers. He was the league’s 1962 MVP after unseating Jim Brown as NFL rushing champion. That was part of a five-year run in which he topped 1,000 yards all five years for a combined for 6,069 rushing yards and 66 touchdowns. Taylor was part of all five of the Glory Years championships.

Last year’s Walter Payton Man of the Year nominees will be announcing the third-round picks. For Green Bay, that means Jayrone Elliott. Elliott was re-signed during the offseason. An undrafted free agent in 2014, he’s got 39 career special teams tackles. Elliott’s best season on defense came in 2015, when he had three sacks, one interception and one forced fumble. With the departures of Julius Peppers and Datone Jones, Elliott could have a bigger role on defense this year.

Here's the full list:

TeamRound 2Round 3
Arizona Cardinals Jim Hart Mike Leach
Atlanta Falcons Gerald Riggs Matt Bosher
Baltimore Ravens Jermaine Lewis Edwin Mulitalo
Buffalo Bills Thurman Thomas Bryan Scott
Carolina Panthers Travelle Wharton Greg Olsen
Chicago Bears Jay Hilgenberg Sam Acho
Cincinnati Bengals Anthony Muñoz Vincent Rey
Cleveland Browns Jim Brown Josh Cribbs
Dallas Cowboys Drew Pearson Bradie James
Denver Broncos Floyd Little Rod Smith
Detroit Lions Lem Barney Don Carey
Green Bay Packers Jim Taylor Jayrone Elliott
Houston Texans Andre Johnson Brian Cushing
Indianapolis Colts Robert Mathis Joe Reitz
Jacksonville Jaguars Tony Boselli Josh Scobee
Kansas City Chiefs Carlos Carson Will Shields
Los Angeles Chargers Shawne Merriman Jeremiah Attaochu
Los Angeles Rams Jack Youngblood Steven Jackson
Miami Dolphins Larry Little Chris Chambers
Minnesota Vikings John Randle Madieu Williams
New England Patriots Andre Tippett Matthew Slater
New Orleans Saints Morten Andersen Lance Moore
New York Giants Harry Carson Jessie Armstead
New York Jets Joe Klecko Brandon Moore
Oakland Raiders Willie Brown Willie Brown
Philadelphia Eagles Ron Jaworski Jon Dorenbos
Pittsburgh Steelers Franco Harris Arthur Moats
San Francisco 49ers Tom Rathman Justin Smith
Seattle Seahawks Jacob Green Cliff Avril
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Mike Alstott Ryan Nece
Tennessee Titans Mike Rozier Jurrell Casey
Washington Redskins Clinton Portis London Fletcher

Bill Huber is publisher of and has written for Packer Report since 1997. E-mail him at or leave him a question in Packer Report’s subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum. Find Bill on Twitter at

Packer Report Top Stories