Three Packers head to Pro Bowl

Favre, Green, and Rivera are named to squad

A trio of Packers earned trips to the Pro Bowl in Honolulu, Hawaii, and all three will be making return trips.

Quarterback Brett Favre, running back Ahman Green and guard Marco Rivera were announced as 2003 Pro Bowl selections, the according to the NFL and broadcast reports Thursday.

Rivera, who last year became the first Packers offensive lineman in 18 years named to the Pro Bowl, received his second selection. This is the third consecutive honor for Green. This season's selection is the eighth overall, and third consecutive for Favre, although he did not play in the 2001 or 2002 Pro Bowls.

Another eight Packers were named as alternates (listed alphabetically): linebacker Nick Barnett, center Mike Flanagan, tight end Bubba Franks, defensive end Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila, fullback William Henderson, kicker Ryan Longwell, cornerback Mike McKenzie and safety Darren Sharper.

The selections were determined by votes from fans, players and coaches. Only fan totals, from, are made public. Flanagan led all centers with 143,655 fan votes, Barnett (185,307) was second among rookies and Green received the sixth-highest overall total (798,802).

The full squads will be announced by the NFL at 3 p.m. Central.

Packer Report Top Stories