Green adds to accolades

Ahman Green received another honor this past week as he was named the 101 Awards NFC Offensive Player of the Year.<p>

Other recipients are Peyton Manning, quarterback of the Indianapolis Colts, as AFC Offensive Player of the Year; Ray Lewis, linebacker of the Baltimore Ravens, as AFC Defensive Player of the Year; and Michael Strahan, defensive end of the New York Giants, as NFC Defensive Player of the Year.

Bill Belichick of the New England Patriots and Bill Parcells of the Dallas Cowboys were selected as Coaches of the Year in their respective conferences.

The recipients, selected by a national media committee of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters, were announced Wednesday by the Committee of 101. The awards will be presented at the 34th annual NFL 101 banquet in Kansas City on March 6.

In addition to the six national winners, the banquet will recognize the Chiefs 2003 Derrick Thomas MVP recipient, quarterback Trent Green, and the Mack Lee Hill Award co-winners, rookie defensive players Jimmy Wilkerson and Kawika Mitchell. Chiefs owner Lamar Hunt will also induct the 34th member into the team's Hall of Fame.

Packer Report Top Stories