Newest Packer Hall of Fame inductee

Green Bay's all-time leading receiver Sterling Sharpe will join longtime photographer Vernon Biever as this year's inductees for the Green Bay Packer Hall of Fame.<p>

The 32nd annual banquet is set for July 13 at the KI Convention Center in Green Bay.

Presenters for each of the inductees have not officially been named, but it is believed that legendary Packers quarterback Bart Starr will induct Biever and Baltimore Ravens tight end Shannon Sharpe will present his brother Sterling. The induction of Sharpe and Biever will increase membership in the hall to 128.

Sharpe, a first-round draft selection in 1988, played seven seasons with the Packers before retiring after the 1994 season because of a back injury. At the time of his retirement, he was the only player to lead the NFL in receiving three times since the 1970 NFL-AFL merger. Sharpe finished his career with 595 receptions. He was selected to the Pro Bowl five times.

Biever has been associated with the Packers since 1941. He started taking photographs of the team as an 18-year-old stringer with the Milwaukee Sentinel. He has been photographing the Packers on a limited basis and staffed every Super Bowl until this year.

Biever accepted his invitation to the Hall of Fame last fall.

Sharpe was asked to be inducted into the Hall of Fame last year, but he never responded to the invitation sent out by the Hall of Fame committee. He is employed as a television football analyst for ESPN.

Tickets for the banquet are $95 per person. Tables of 10 are available. Seating is on a first-come, first-serve basis. The banquet will begin with cocktails at 5:30 p.m., with the dinner and induction program at 7.

Ttickets are available by calling Gwen Borga at (920) 405-1177, or e-mailing her at Limited sponsorship opportunities also are available for the banquet. Call Dennis Tattum at 405-1116 for more information.

Packer Report Top Stories