Butler, Wolf fail to make Hall of Fame cut

Former GM Ron Wolf and former star safety LeRoy Butler, key parts to the Super Bowl XXXI championship team, are not among the 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

It looks like only two members of the Green Bay Packers' Super Bowl XXXI championship team — one of the greatest teams in NFL history — will be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Those two would be Reggie White, inducted in the spring, and Brett Favre, five years after he retires.

The list won't grow to include retired safety LeRoy Butler or former general manager Ron Wolf.

Butler and Wolf, first-year nominees to the Hall of Fame, failed to make the initial cut to 25 semifinalists. Times change, and there's always a chance voters will reconsider and they'll make the cut in the future, but if they couldn't get to the final 25 in a relatively weak list of first-year hopefuls, then chances are they'll never get to the semifinals, much less be among the three to seven selected annually for enshrinement.

Former Broncos running back Terrell Davis, former Oilers-Titans offensive lineman Bruce Matthews and former Vikings guard Randall McDaniel are the three first-year nominees to survive the cutdown to 25.

The other finalists: center Dermontti Dawson, defensive end Fred Dean, defensive end Richard Dent, linebacker Randy Gradishar, linebacker Kevin Greene, guard Russ Grimm, punter Ray Guy, defensive end Charles Haley, cornerback Lester Hayes, wide receiver Michael Irvin, guard Bob Kuchenberg, owner Art Modell, wide receiver Art Monk, wide receiver Andre Reed, quarterback Ken Stabler, commissioner Paul Tagliabue, linebacker Derrick Thomas, running back Thurman Thomas, linebacker Andrew Tippett, cornerback Roger Wehrli, former Giants general manager George Young and tackle Gary Zimmerman.

Among the first-year nominees who failed to make the cut: cornerback Eric Allen, quarterback Randall Cunningham, safety Carnell Lake, running back Ricky Waters and offensive linemen Mark Stepnoski and Steve Wisniewski.

Packer Report Top Stories