A fan Favre-orite

Quarterback No. 1 among vote-getters for annual Pro Bowl

The NFL announced today that Green Bay Packers quarterback Brett Favre received 1,140,863 votes to lead all NFL All-Stars in balloting for the 2008 NFL Pro Bowl.

2008 NFL Pro Bowl voting on NFL.com and on wireless phones with Sprint service ended on Tuesday.

The league reported that a record 83.7 million votes were cast on NFL.com and on wireless phones using more than 2,262,000 ballots. There were nearly 14 million more votes cast this year than last year.

Part of that can be attributed to the advancement in technology, but Favre's impressive season and Green Bay's widespread fan base probably was a big reason for the increase in votes.

At age 38, Favre has been enjoying one of his best seasons as a pro. He has thrown for 3,678 yards and 24 touchdowns with a passer rating of 98.7. Favre has led the Packers (11-2) to an NFC North Division title and to the playoffs for the first time since 2004.

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady (1,037,608 votes) ranks second overall in voting, just ahead of Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning (991,418 votes), Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (830,789 votes) and New England Patriots wide receiver Randy Moss (806,455 votes).

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are made up of the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches are casting their votes December 13-14.

The teams will be announced at 3 p.m. (CT) Dec. 18 on a special NFL Total Access 2008 NFL Pro Bowl Selection Show on NFL Network. The Pro Bowl will be played at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii on Sunday, Feb. 10 and will be televised by FOX.

Packer Report Top Stories