Four named to Pro Bowl

Favre gets honor for ninth time in career; 10 players named as alternates

Quarterback Brett Favre, wide receiver Donald Driver, defensive end Aaron Kampman and cornerback Al Harris were named to the NFC squad for the annual Pro Bowl by the National Football League today.

Three Packers players were named first alternates and seven as second alternates. The first alternates include linebacker Nick Barnett, offensive tackle Chad Clifton, and cornerback Charles Woodson. Many felt that Barnett and Clifton would be named to the NFC squad for the first time in their careers. Woodson has made the Pro Bowl four times while he was with the Raiders, but is an alternate for the second straight year.

Other alternates include: safety Nick Collins, tight end Bubba Franks, running back Ryan Grant, linebacker A.J. Hawk, wide receiver Greg Jennings, tight end Donald Lee and center Scott Wells.

Favre received his ninth Pro Bowl honor, and was named a starter for the NFC squad. He hasn't played in the all-star game since after the 1996 season. This season, Favre is the NFC's leader in passing yards and has broken some of the league's most hallowed records, including career touchdown passes, passing yards and wins.

Driver earns his second straight and third career Pro Bowl selection. He tied a franchise record with 1,000 receiving yards in a fifth overall season, joining Sterling Sharpe and Pro Football Hall of Famer James Lofton as one of three Packers to achieve that feat.

Kampman, in his sixth season out of Iowa, returns to Hawaii for the second consecutive year. The defensive end has started 72 consecutive games for the Packers and stands tied for third in the NFC with 12 sacks.

Harris is the only Packers player making his first trip to the Pro Bowl. In his 10th NFL season and fifth with Green Bay, he has totaled 36 tackles, two interceptions and nine passes defensed.

Packer Report Top Stories