McCarthy honored by NFL alumni

Former players select Packers head coach as best in 2007

Though Bill Belichick was named Associated Press coach of the year today, an honor which is recognized by the National Football League, Packers coach Mike McCarthy was given the same honor by a distinguished group - NFL alumni.

McCarthy, along with select players on offense, defense and special teams were honored by a unique voting process in which former players cast ballots for their modern counterparts. Former pros vote only for the positions they once played themselves.

Tom Brady and Randy Moss, the NFL's new single- season record holders for touchdown passes and catches, respectively, were among 10 current stars voted by former players as NFL Alumni 2007 Player of the Year honorees. The complete selections include:

-- Quarterback — Tom Brady (New England Patriots)
-- Running Back — Brian Westbrook (Philadelphia Eagles)
-- Wide Receiver—Randy Moss (New England Patriots)
-- Tight End — Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys)
-- Offensive Lineman — Jeff Saturday (Indianapolis Colts)

-- Defensive Lineman — Mario Williams (Houston Texans)
-- Pass Rusher — Jared Allen (Kansas City Chiefs)
-- Linebacker — Patrick Willis (San Francisco 49ers)
-- Defensive Back — Antonio Cromartie (San Diego Chargers)

-- Special Teams Player—Devin Hester (Chicago Bears)
-- Coach — Mike McCarthy (Green Bay Packers)

The 2007 awardees will be honored at the 26th annual Player of the Year Awards Dinner, to be held Feb. 1, 2008, at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Gainey Ranch in Scottsdale, Ariz. The fundraising dinner will be held on the eve of Super Bowl XLII. During the awards ceremony, each awardee will receive his NFL Alumni Player of the Year award from a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame who once played the same position.

The Don Shula Coach of the Year Award will be presented by the legendary Coach Don Shula.

Packer Report Top Stories