Packers release training camp schedule

Camp starts with two practices on Monday, July 28, and the last of 22 practices that will be open to the public will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 26.

Railbirds, it's the day you've been waiting for since last August.

The Green Bay Packers released their training camp schedule on Thursday morning.

Training camp starts on Monday, July 28, with two-a-day practices at 8:45 a.m. and 6:30 p.m. on Clarke Hinkle Field That night practice will be the first of seven. The others: July 30, Aug. 1, Aug. 6, Aug. 8, Aug. 13 and Aug. 18. That list does not include the Aug. 3 Family Night Scrimmage in Lambeau Field.

The last practice that will be open to the public will start at 10:15 a.m. Tuesday, Aug. 26.

Usually, training camp begins on a Saturday. But, with the Packers opening the preseason on a Monday, they can't by NFL rule open training camp 15 days before their first exhibition game. Thus, the players will report on Sunday, July 27, and begin practicing the next day.

The Monday preseason opener does have one benefit, though. "Our training camp schedule really parallels our in-season schedule," coach Mike McCarthy said in a news release. "We have a prime-time, ‘Monday Night Football' game to start the preseason and the regular season, so this will help us prepare for the regular season."

Like last year, McCarthy is keeping the workload relatively light. For example, on Thursday, July 31, and Thursday, Aug. 7, there will be no public practice. Instead, there will be jog-through workouts and speakers to keep the players fresh, and take advantage of the offseason workload and his players' familiarity with his schemes.

"I think you can make a mistake in working your guys extremely hard, and the commitment that you get from your players in the offseason program frankly has to count for something," McCarthy said after the Thursday practice. "And that factors in to what we do in training camp. So, with the workload that we have accomplished so far and the workload that we're going to accomplish by the third week of June, with our training camp schedule, I feel very confident that our football team will be ready to go on Monday night football against the Vikings."

After the Packers open the preseason, there will be only eight more opportunities to watch practice.

THE SCHEDULE

All times Central

Monday, July 28: 8:45 a.m. (shells); 6:30 p.m. (pads).

Tuesday, July 29: 2 p.m. (pads)

Wednesday, July 30: 8:45 a.m. (shells); 6:30 p.m. (pads).

Thursday, July 31: No public practice.

Friday, Aug. 1: 8:45 a.m. (shells); 6:30 p.m. (pads).

Saturday, Aug 2: 2 p.m. (pads).

Sunday, Aug. 3: No public practice in morning; Family Night Scrimmage, 6:30 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 4: No practice.

Tuesday, Aug. 5: 2 p.m. (pads).

Wednesday, Aug. 6: 8:45 a.m. (shells); 6:30 p.m. (pads).

Thursday, Aug. 7: No public practice.

Friday, Aug. 8: 8:45 a.m. (shells); 6:30 p.m. (pads).

Saturday, Aug. 9: (pads).

Sunday, Aug. 10: No public practice.

Monday, Aug. 11: vs. Cincinnati Bengals, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 12: No practice.

Wednesday, Aug. 13: 6:30 p.m. (pads).

Thursday, Aug. 14: 10:45 a.m. (shells).

Friday, Aug. 15: No public practice.

Saturday, Aug. 16: at San Francisco 49ers, 8 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 17: No practice.

Monday, Aug. 18: 6:30 p.m. (pads).

Tuesday, Aug. 19: 10:45 a.m. (pads).

Wednesday, Aug. 20: 10:45 a.m. (shells).

Thursday, Aug. 21: No public practice.

Friday, Aug. 22: at Denver Broncos, 8 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 23: No practice.

Sunday, Aug. 24: 11:30 a.m. (pads).

Monday, Aug. 25: 10:45 a.m. (pads).

Tuesday, Aug. 26: 10:15 a.m. (shells).

Wednesday, Aug. 27: No public practice.

Thursday, Aug. 28: vs. Tennessee Titans, 7 p.m.


Packer Report Top Stories