Gbaja-Biamila receives honor

Defensive end Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila is the Packers' recipient of the 2002 Ed Block Courage Award, the foundation for the award announced Tuesday.<P>

Each winner is selected by the votes of his teammates for commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The award, first handed out to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann in 1978, now the Ed Block Courage Award goes annually to one player on each of the NFL's 32 teams.

Gbaja-Biamila received national attention this season after delivering a standout performance in the Packers' Dec. 8 victory over the Minnesota Vikings, a game played only days after the tragic death of his mother in a car accident.

In his third NFL season, Gbaja-Biamila also became a regular starter and every-down player for the first time as a pro.

Gbaja-Biamila led the team with 12 sacks in 2002. He also forced four fumbles and made 45 tackles.

Gbaja-Biamila will receive his award March 25, at the Baltimore Convention Center banquet. The award is named for Ed Block, the former head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts for 23 years. Considered a pioneer in his profession, Blocked was also respected for his humanitarian efforts, including helping children of abuse.

Packer Report Top Stories