Seven assigned to play in NFL Europe

The Packers have allocated seven players to participate in NFL Europe this spring, the team announced on Wednesday.<p>

The list includes safety Jeremy Unertl, punter Tim Morgan, linebackers Isaac Keys and Jermaine Petty, wide receivers Brian Haugabrook and Travis Williams, and return specialist/wide receiver Shawn Mills.

NFL teams are only required to allocate three players to NFLE – down from six last season. Haugabrook, Unertl and Williams spent time in Packers mini-camps or training camp last season. Morgan was with the Packers' practice squad in 2001, while Keys, Mills and Petty were signed by the Packers for the first time Jan. 8.

This year, each NFL team must submit at least three players for allocation by next Monday (Jan. 27). Those three players then will be assigned by the league to NFLE teams the following week.

Remaining players in the allocation pool will be selected to teams via the NFLE draft February 4.

The NFLE then runs training camps in Tampa from February 24 to March 6. Controlled scrimmages are conducted March 15 and 23, with final roster cuts made after the second scrimmage.

Players then travel overseas to their respective towns March 25.

The 10-week NFLE season gets under way April 5, leading toward World Bowl XI in Glasgow, Scotland, June 14.

Pro Bowl guard Marco Rivera is among a handful of current Packers who have benefited from the developmental league. Rivera played for the Scottish Claymores in what was then the World League after his rookie season of 1996.

Packer Report Top Stories