NFL rookie of the year

New York Giants tight end Jeremy Shockey was named the 2002 NFL Rookie of the Year, the league announced Wednesday.<p> More than 350,000 fans voted for five candidates on from Jan. 1 through Jan. 20 to determine which rookie would win the first Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Year award. More than one million fans voted for the rookie of the year during the regular season.<p>

Shockey was presented the award during a press conference in San Diego. Green Bay Packers safety Marques Anderson and Denver Broncos running back Clinton Portis also were present at the presentation. Anderson and Portis were among the top five finalists, including Houston Texans quarterback David Carr and Cleveland Browns running back William Green.

Anderson won the rookie of the week award three times last season and was one of five nominees on another occasion. He was promoted to the starting strong safety job ahead of Antuan Edwards prior to midseason.

Shockey led all NFL tight ends with 74 receptions and 894 receiving yards, while breaking New York Giants tight end records in both receptions and receiving yards. Shockey also finished second all-time among rookie tight ends in both receptions (Keith Jackson, 81 in 1988) and receiving yards (Mike Ditka, 1,076 in 1961). Shockey was nominated five times for Pepsi Rookie of the Week (including Week 17), winning the award in Weeks 11 and 16.

The five finalists were chosen after tabulating this season's fan voting. Each week, five nominees were chosen and NFL fans voted for the winner on

Packer Report Top Stories