Shocking Cuts Made to Reach 53

The Packers got down to the league-mandated 53 players on Saturday. Among the highlights: They released 2008 second-rounder Brian Brohm, veteran receiver Ruvell Martin and safety Anthony Smith, traded Tony Moll for a cornerback, cut rookies Jamon Meredith and Tyrell Sutton, and put Justin Harrell and Pat Lee on injured reserve.

Editor's note: For news and analysis of all 32 teams' roster moves, click here.

Brian Brohm? Released.

Tyrell Sutton? Released.

Justin Harrell? Injured reserve.

Scott Wells? On the team.

Those four were the main characters entering Saturday, and add two more to the list: receiver Ruvell Martin and safety Anthony Smith.

Those six were among those trimmed from the roster as the Packers sliced their way from 75 players to 53 on Saturday afternoon. Also released were wide receiver Jake Allen, cornerback Trevor Ford, guard/tackle Andrew Hartline, wide receiver Kole Heckendorf, linebacker Danny Lansanah, running back Kregg Lumpkin, defensive end Alfred Malone, rookie tackle Jamon Meredith, nose tackle Dean Muhtadi, linebacker Cyril Obiozor, cornerback Joe Porter, tackle Dane Randolph, defensive end Ronald Talley and nose tackle Anthony Toribio.

Four were placed on season-ending injured reserve: defensive end Justin Harrell, cornerback Pat Lee, tight end Evan Moore and safety Charlie Peprah. Peprah will be waived with an injury settlement, according to reports.

With the release of Brohm, the Packers enter the regular season with only Aaron Rodgers and Matt Flynn at quarterback. And Brett Swain, in a surprise, beat out the reliable Martin to be the fifth receiver. Staying on offense, the Packers kept all three fullbacks, Spencer Havner stuck as a tight end/linebacker, and undrafted rookie center/guard Evan Dietrich-Smith made it but fifth-round left tackle Meredith did not on the offensive line.

On defense, seventh-round pick Brad Jones made it as a ninth linebacker, and Aaron Rouse and Jarrett Bush will be the backup safeties. The Packers traded veteran offensive lineman Tony Moll to Baltimore to add depth at cornerback with Derrick Martin. For more on the reasoning behind that transaction, click here.

Of the eight draft picks, only Meredith failed to make the team. Dietrich-Smith was the only undrafted rookie to make the cut.

The 53-man roster

Quarterbacks (2)

Aaron Rodgers, Matt Flynn.

Halfbacks (3)

Ryan Grant, Brandon Jackson, DeShawn Wynn.

Fullbacks (3)

Korey Hall, John Kuhn, Quinn Johnson.

Wide receivers (5)

Donald Driver, Greg Jennings, James Jones, Jordy Nelson, Brett Swain.

Tight ends (3)

Donald Lee, Jermichael Finley, Spencer Havner.

Offensive line (9)

Chad Clifton, Daryn Colledge, Jason Spitz, Josh Sitton, Allen Barbre, T.J. Lang, Breno Giacomini, Scott Wells, Evan Dietrich-Smith.

Defensive line (6)

Cullen Jenkins, Ryan Pickett, Johnny Jolly, B.J. Raji, Jarius Wynn, Michael Montgomery.

Linebackers (9)

Aaron Kampman, Brady Poppinga, Nick Barnett, A.J. Hawk, Clay Matthews III, Jeremy Thompson, Brad Jones, Brandon Chillar and Desmond Bishop.

Secondary (10)

Charles Woodson, Al Harris, Nick Collins, Atari Bigby, Tramon Williams, Will Blackmon, Brandon Underwood, Derrick Martin, Jarrett Bush, Aaron Rouse.

Special teams (3)

Mason Crosby, Jeremy Kapinos, Brett Goode.

Practice squad

The Packers can sign players — either their own cuts or players released from other teams — to the eight-man practice squad starting at 11 a.m. on Sunday.

Agree or disagree?: Discuss hot Packers topics in our, free forums. Leave Bill a question in the subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum.

Bill Huber is publisher of Packer Report magazine and and has written for Packer Report since 1997. E-mail him at, or leave him a question in Packer Report's subscribers-only Packers Pro Club forum. Find Bill on Twitter at and Facebook under Bill Huber.

Packer Report Top Stories