Eight's enough for NFL Europe

The Packers included safety Bobby Jackson among its allocated players for NFL Europe, bringing Green Bay's total for the spring league to eight.<p>

Besides Jackson, others named for allocation to the NFL's developmental league are wide receivers Brian Haugabrook and Travis Williams, linebackers Isaac Keys and Jermaine Petty, punter Tim Morgan, safety Jeremy Unertl and wide receiver/return specialist Shawn Mills.

NFL teams are only required to allocate three players to NFLE – down from six last season. Only the Chicago Bears, with 13, and the Kansas City Chiefs, with 10, allocated more players to NFLE than the Packers.

Haugabrook, Unertl and Williams spent time in Packers mini-camps or training camp last season. Morgan was with the Packers' practice squad in 2001, while Keys, Mills and Petty were signed by the Packers for the first time Jan. 8. Jackson signed with he Packers last week.

NFLE team assignments also were announced Tuesday.

Jackson, Keys and Petty will join forces with the Scottish Claymores. Haugabrook and Unertl will suit up for the Frankfurt Galaxy. Mills is the lone Packers representative with the Rhein Fire. Williams is the lone representative with the Amsterdam Admirals.

Morgan will attend the NFLE kickers/punters training camp before being assigned to a team. The 10-week NFLE season begins April 5. The season concludes with World Bowl XI in Glasgow, Scotland, June 14.

Packer Report Top Stories