Carolina Panthers' Ron Rivera Wins NFL Coach of the Year

For the second time in his career, Ron Rivera was named the AP NFL Head Coach of the Year

During the NFL Honors show on Saturday night, Carolina Panthers' head coach Ron Rivera was named the AP NFL Head Coach of the Year for the second time in four years. Rivera led the Panthers to an NFL best 15-1 regular season record this year as well as an NFC Conference Championship title.

This is the second time in three years that Rivera has won the award and is now one of 12 coaches to win the award multiple times. The last coaches to accomplish this was Arizona Cardinals' Bruce Arians, who won his second last year, and New England Patriots' Bill Belichick, who won his third in 2010.

Rivera also has a chance on Sunday to join a select group if he leads the Panthers' to a Super Bowl win.  He will be one of 14 coaches that have won this award and a Super Bowl in the same year however only two have been able to do it since 1983 (Bill Belichick in 2003, Dick Vermil in 1999).

The Panthers signed Rivera in 2011 to replace former head coach John Fox and in a short period of time, Rivera has found success in Carolina. He has won the NFC South division the past three seasons and has led his team to a regular season 34-13-1 over that span.

He will have a chance to add to his resume with a win in Super Bowl 50 when the Carolina Panthers take on the Denver Broncos.

Twitter @BrandonCroce.

Follow us on Twitter @PanthersonScout and like our page on Facebook.

Panther Insider Top Stories