Referee Speaks After Controversial Call

Referee Jerome Boger explains the call that led to the Patriots loss against the Jets Sunday.

A newly instituted rule was the downfall of the Patriots against the Jets Sunday.

When Jets kicker Nick Folk missed a potential 56-yard game-winning field goal wide left in overtime, New York was given the biggest break of the day. The miss was negated by an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty for 15 yards and a Jets first down against New England rookie defensive tackle Chris Jones.

The penalty gave Folk another chance and he capatalized on it by kicking a 42-yard field goal with 5:07 left in overtime for a Jets 30-27 victory.

Referee Jerome Boger explained the call, which was never made in the NFL before.

"The call was that No. 94 (Jones)on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation," Boger told a pool reporter after the game. "That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents' formation."

Boger was then asked if any type of push mattered, one hamd or two, he replied "Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It's any type of pushing action."

Boger said the umpire's flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action.

"We just enforced it as he called it," said Boger. "A 15-yard penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct."


Kevin Saleeba is the senior editor and columnist for Patriots Insider. A former beat writer for local media, Kevin has extensive knowledge of the team and experience covering the Patriots. Follow Kevin on Twitter: @KevinSaleeba

Patriots Insider Top Stories