Belichick Appreciates Coach of the Year Honor

Bill Belichick was named as the AP Coach of the year on Thursday. Belichick guided the Patriots to a 16-0 record for the first perfect season since the 1972 Dolphins went undefeated. It is Belichick second Coach of the Year award.

The honors for Belichick came amid some controversy as voters had to deal with the scandal surrounding Belichick's season which occurred in week one when the team was caught violating league rules regarding use of videotaping equipment. Belichick was personally fined $500,000 for the indiscretion, while the team was fined another $250,000 and forced to surrender it's 2008 first round draft pick.

Belichick received 29 of the 50 votes cast for the award.

Other coaches receiving votes were Green Bay's Mike McCarthy who received 15 votes, Dallas' Wade Phillips (2), Jacksonville's Jack Del Rio (2), Tampa Bay's Jon Gruden (1) and Indianapolis' Tony Dungy (1).

Belichick showed appreciation for the award honor Friday during his press conference.

"I want to acknowledge the Coach of the Year [award] yesterday from the AP," Said Belichick. "It's certainly an honor and something I appreciate. I think there are a lot of great coaches in this league. I think there are some guys that have done really fantastic jobs at their teams, so it's really an honor to be selected."

Belichick deflected personal attention for the award, instead preferring to credit his supporting cast.

"I think most of the credit needs to go to the players and the team for winning and the assistant coaches for the job that they did."

Patriots Insider Top Stories