Photo by: Bob Carr (@BobCarrNFL)

A quick look at the Oakland Raiders free agents

A quick look at the Oakland Raiders free agents

The Oakland Raiders made solid strides in the 2015 season, but now they have some key free agents that they will have to try and re-sign. 

With a reported cap space of over $70 million, here's the Raiders list of free agents.

Unrestricted free agents: LT Donald Penn, S Charles Woodson (retired), OLB Aldon Smith, WR Rod Streater, OL Khalif Barnes, S Larry Asante, WR Andre Holmes, P Marquette King and OL Tony Bergstrom.

Restricted free agents: OLB Benson Mayowa, RT Matt McCants, CB Neiko Thorpe, QB Matt McGloin and WR Jeremy Ross.

Exclusive rights free agent: S Tevin McDonald, TE Gabe Holmes, DE Shelby Harris, OLB Korey Toomer, WR Seth Roberts and DE Denico Autry.

If you need a quick update on what the different types of free agents are, here you go: 

An "unrestricted free agent" is not under a contract of any sort and can sign with any team they want to.

A "restricted free agent" is a player with six or more regular season games played, and will receive a tender from his current team. He can then continue to negotiate with other teams, but his current team will have five days to match the offer. 

An "exclusive rights free agent" has less than three accrued NFL seasons and is limited to either signing a contracted tendered to him by his current team, or not playing in the NFL season. If his current team doesn't offer him a tender, then he will become an unrestricted free agent.

Oakland Raiders Top Stories