Ravens release depth chart

The Ravens released their first depth chart of the preseason.

With less than a week left until the first exhibition game, the Ravens released their first depth chart for the 2013 season.

Here's the first team on offense: QB Joe Flacco, WR Torrey Smith, WR Jacoby Jones, RB Ray Rice, FB Vonta Leach, TE Ed Dickson, LT Bryant McKinnie, LG Kelechi Osemele, C Gino Gradkowski, RG Marshal Yanda and RT Michael Oher. Yanda has a shoulder injury and probably won't play Thursday. Jah Reid is his listed backup.

Here's the first team on defense: DT Arthur Jones, NT Haloti Ngata, DE Chris Canty, Rush LB Terrell Suggs, Will LB Jameel McClain, Mike LB Daryl Smith, Sam LB Courtney Upshaw or Elvis Dumervil, CB Lardarius Webb, CB Corey Graham, SS James Ihedigbo and FS Michael Huff. With McClain (spinal cord contusion) waiting to be cleared, Josh Bynes is his listed backup.

The biggest thing that stands out is the fact that Upshaw and Dumervil are essentially listed as co-starters.

Here are some notable backups:

Deonte Thompson and Tandon Doss are the primary receivers behind Torrey Smith and Jacoby Jones, respectfully. David Reed, Aaron Mellette, LaQuan Williams and Marlon Brown are grouped together with a third unit. Tommy Streeter is behind all of them on a fourth team.

Billy Bajema is listed as the No. 2 tight end, with Visanthe Shiancoe and Matt Furstenburg grouped together in the No. 3 slot.

Brandon Williams is listed as Jones' backup at defensive tackle. Terrence Cody is the backup nose tackle.

Marcus Spears is Canty's backup at defensive end.

Pernell McPhee is Suggs' backup at rush linebacker.

Rookie John Simon is the backup Sam linebacker, though he's listed behind both co-starters Dumervil and Upshaw.

Matt Elam is backing up Ihedigbo and Omar Brown is listed behind Huff. Christian Thompson is the third-string strong safety.

Jimmy Smith and Chykie Brown are the backup cornerbacks to Webb and Graham.

Follow me on twitter: @JasonHButt

Ravens Insider Top Stories