Monk to be considered for HOF

Canton, OH – Twelve former players, a coach, and two administrators make up the 15-man list of finalists who will be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2003.

The former players include running back Marcus Allen, defensive ends Elvin Bethea and Claude Humphrey, linebackers Harry Carson and Randy Gradishar, offensive linemen Joe DeLamielleure, Bob Kuechenberg, and Gary Zimmerman, cornerback Lester Hayes, wide receivers James Lofton and Art Monk, and quarterback Ken Stabler. The coach is Hank Stram, the recommended nominee of the Hall's Seniors Committee. And the two administrators joining the list of finalists are Buffalo Bills founder/owner Ralph Wilson and former New York Giants general manager George Young.

Carson, Hayes, Kuechenberg, Lofton, Monk, Stabler, and Wilson have all been finalists in previous years. Although they have been eligible prior to this year, this is the first time that Bethea, DeLamielleure, Gradishar, Humphrey, Stram, and Young have been finalists. Allen and Zimmerman are first-time eligible candidates.


Art Monk

Wide Receiver . . . 6-3, 210 . . . Syracuse . . . 1980-1993 Washington Redskins, 1994 New York Jets, 1995 Philadelphia Eagles . . . 16 seasons, 224 games . . . Selected by Washington in 1st round (18th player overall) of 1980 draft . . . Prototype for today's bigger, stronger receivers . . . Caught 58 passes as a rookie and was unanimous All-Rookie choice . . . Had 50 or more receptions in a season nine times . . . Gained 1,000 or more receiving yards in a season five times . . . Set then-NFL records for catches in a season (106), most consecutive games with at least one reception (164), and career receptions (820). . . Finished career with 940 catches . . . Had finest season in 1984, catching eight or more passes in six games, five games of 100-plus receiving yards, and in one game caught 10 passes for 200 yards . . . Named Redskins 1984 Most Valuable Player . . . First Redskin to produce three consecutive 1,000 receiving yard seasons . . .. A three-time Pro Bowl selection, was All-Pro choice in 1984 and 1985 . . .

First- or second-team All-NFC three times . . . Born December 5, 1957 at White Plains, New York.

If elected . . .

Art Monk would be the 16th Washington Redskins Hall of Fame member. He would join George Allen, Cliff Battles, Sammy Baugh, Bill Dudley, Albert Glen "Turk" Edwards, Ray Flaherty, Joe Gibbs, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, George Preston Marshall, Wayne Millner, Bobby Mitchell, John Riggins, and Charley Taylor.

Of the 2003 finalists, Stram has been eligible 25 years, Humphrey 17 years, Bethea, Gradishar, and Kuechenberg 15 years, Stabler 14 years, DeLamielleure 13 years, Hayes 12, Carson 10, Lofton five, Monk three, and Allen and Zimmerman are eligible for the first time.

The Class of 2003 will be announced at a press conference at 12 noon (PST) on Saturday, January 25, at the Super Bowl media center in the San Diego Convention Center.

Representatives of the accounting firm Deloitte & Touche will tabulate all votes during the meeting. At the press conference, they will present Hall of Fame Executive Director John Bankert with an envelope containing the names of the nominees elected. The Hall will contact each new member immediately after the announcement. Members of the Class of 2003 in San Diego for the Super Bowl will be asked to join the press conference. Those not able to attend will be asked to join via teleconference.

Enshrinement of the Class of 2003 will take place at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, on Sunday, August 3, 2003.



Breaking Burgundy Top Stories