5 Seahawks Make Pro Bowl (Including Mack!)

The fans, NFL coaches and players thought of 5 Seattle Seahawks who deserved to make the trip to Hawaii in February. Four were expected, and 1 comes in as an official "About Dang Time!" pick.

The NFL announced their Pro Bowl selections for both the AFC and NFC today. At just after 1pm Pacific, it was announced that the Seahawks selected are QB Matt Hasselbeck, LT Walter Jones, LG Steve Hutchinson, RB Shaun Alexander and FB Mack Strong.

Matt, Walter, Shaun and Steve were virtual shoe-ins for the votes but FB Mack Strong has been deserving of Pro Bowl honors for several seasons but hasn't been selected until this year thanks to the gaudy numbers Shaun Alexander (1,668 yards rushing, 24 TDs, both lead NFL) has put up. Neither of which would have been possible without the blocking of Strong, Hutchinson and Jones.

Rookie linebacker Lofa Tatupu, Kicker Josh Brown and Center Robbie Tobeck were named alternates for the NFC team. They will be able to make the trip in the event that a selected player at their respective positions is injured or elects not to play.

This is Hutchinson and Alexander's third trip, Hasselbeck's second and Jones' sixth.

SeahawkFootball.com Top Stories