Seahawks Announce Final Cuts

The Seattle Seahawks have announced the names of the players they have waived, placed on injured reserve, and whose veteran contracts have been terminated in order to bring the team's roster in line with the league-mandated limit of 53.

Beginning at 12:00 pm EST on Sunday, September 3, teams can establish a practice squad of eight players by signing free agents who do not have an accrued season of free agency credit or who were on the 45-player active list for less than nine regular-season games during their only accrued Season(s).

A player can't participate on the Practice Squad for more than three seasons. This is a change from the previous Collective Bargaining Agreement. It was two seasons before.


QB Travis Lulay
RB Jimmy Dixon
RB Marquis Weeks
FB David Kirtman
WR C.J. Jones
WR Ben Obomanu
WR Justin Surrency
TE Leonard Stephens
G William Henry
G Jason Murphy
C Pat Ross
DE Robert Pollard
DE John Syptak
OLB Lance Laury
OLB Cornelius Wortham
CB Kevin Hobbs
CB Gerard Ross
S Etric Pruitt


WR Peter Warrick
TE Matt Murphy


FB Leonard Weaver
DE Kemp Rasmussen
S Mike Green

In addition, the Seahawks have traded a conditional 2008 draft pick to the Philadelphia Eagles for fullback Josh Parry. Parry is a 6’2”, 250-pound San Jose State grad with decent numbers as a pass-catcher (22/164/7.5). He can also provide a presence on special teams. He will most likely fill the role of backup to Mack Strong with Weaver's IR status and Kirtman's cut.

Parry was signed by Philadelphia as a street free agent in 2001, and switched to fullback after spending two training camps as a linebacker. When John Ritchie tore his ACL in September of 2004, Parry took over and supplanted Ritchie in 2005, earning the lone fullback spot on the roster. However, the Eagles had been looking to move Parry prior to the roster deadline due to their interest in new starting FB Thomas Tapeh. Top Stories