Ruskell Named to New GM Committee

Seahawks Team President Tim Ruskell has been named to the NFL's new General Managers Advisory Committee. Read more about what this new group will do, and who's involved.

Former New York Giants General Manager ERNIE ACCORSI has been hired as a consultant to the NFL office and will co-chair a new General Managers Advisory Committee, NFL Executive Vice President of Football Operations RAY ANDERSON announced today.

In his new role, Accorsi will focus on assisting the NFL in monitoring compliance with rules and policies and achieving better and more consistent communication with senior club football personnel.

Accorsi retired from the Giants after the 2006 season following a 35-year career in the NFL, the last 14 with the Giants, including nine as general manager. He also served as general manager of the Cleveland Browns (1985-92) and Baltimore Colts (1982-83).

The General Managers Advisory Committee will provide advice and other feedback to the NFL Football Operations department headed by Anderson. Areas of focus for the committee will include:

Protecting and supporting the integrity of the game
Expanded use of technology
Player development and scouting opportunities
Development of innovative ideas to improve the Pro Bowl, Scouting Combine, NFL Draft, and preseason

“With our emphasis on innovation, collaboration, and accountability of all personnel in protecting the integrity of the game, the General Managers Advisory Committee gives our clubs a new mechanism for consistent communication with the league office and will result in better information for our office,” Anderson said.

The General Managers Advisory Committee will be co-chaired by Anderson and Accorsi.

Other members of the committee are JERRY ANGELO (Chicago Bears), KEVIN COLBERT (Pittsburgh Steelers), ROD GRAVES (Arizona Cardinals), JAMES HARRIS (Jacksonville Jaguars), TOM HECKERT (Philadelphia Eagles), MARTY HURNEY (Carolina Panthers), MICKEY LOOMIS (New Orleans Saints), CARL PETERSON (Kansas City Chiefs), JERRY REESE (New York Giants), TIM RUSKELL (Seattle Seahawks), RICK SMITH (Houston Texans), and MIKE TANNENBAUM (New York Jets). Top Stories