Gray to receive Ed Block Courage Award

Guard Chris Gray has been named the Seattle Seahawks' 2008 Ed Block Courage Award winner.

Seattle Seahawks guard Chris Gray was named the Seahawks' recipient of the 2008 Ed Block Courage Award.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named after the longtime trainer of the Baltimore Colts, and is awarded to the player who exemplifies the principles of courage and sportsmanship, and serves as an inspiration to his teammates.

Gray, 38, attempted to return for a 16th season in the NFL, but a back injury early in training camp forced him to announce his retirement.

Recent Seahawks to win the Ed Block Courage Award are:

2007: Seneca Wallace, QB
2006: Ken Hamlin, S
2005: Bobby Engram, WR
2004: Chad Brown, LB
2003: Trent Dilfer, QB
2002: Floyd Womack, T
2001: Mack Strong, FB
2000: Matt LaBounty, DE

To learn more about the Ed Block Courage Foundation, please visit Top Stories