Steelers Pro Bowl News

Steelers Ben Roethlisberger, Antonio Brown and David DeCastro named to Pro Bowl.

Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, wide receiver Antonio Brown and guard David DeCastrowere named to the 2016 Pro Bowl, it was announced today.

The Steelers are sending multiple players to the Pro Bowl for the 15th straight season and for the 24th time in the last 27 seasons.

Roethlisberger has earned his fourth Pro Bowl selection (’07, ’11 and ’14). He has thrown for 3,369 yards on the season with 18 touchdowns for a passer rating of 96.4. Roethlisberger ranks first in the NFL in passing yards per game (336.9), and third in yards per attempt (8.44) and completion percentage (67.9). He has been named AFC Offensive Player of the Week twice (Weeks 2 and 10) and has earned FedEx Air Player of the Week honors twice (Weeks 10 and 13) this season.

This marks Brown’s third straight trip to the Pro Bowl and fourth overall selection (’11, ‘13 and ’14). He ranks first in the NFL in receiving yards (1,586) and scrimmage yards (1,614), and he ranks second in receptions (116). Brown is also tied for the league lead with eight 100-yard receiving games. In addition, Brown is averaging 10.4 yards per punt return and has one punt return for a touchdown. He was named AFC Offensive Player of the Month (November) and was named AFC Special Teams Player of the Week (Week 13).

DeCastro has been named to the Pro Bowl for the first time in his career. He has started 38 consecutive games, which is the sixth-longest active starts streak among guards. DeCastro has helped block for an offense that ranks second in the league in net yards per game (402.9) and yards per play (6.3).

The Pro Bowl will be played Sunday, January 31, 2016, at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii, and will be televised live on ESPN at 8 p.m. (ET). For the third straight year, the Pro Bowl is “unconferenced,” so players were selected without regard to conference by a combined voting of fans, players and coaches. For the third consecutive year, players will be assigned to teams by a Pro Bowl Draft.


Steel City Insider Top Stories