2004 Hall of Fame Class Narrowed to 25

Prospective inductees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2004 started with a field of 67. Today, the semi-finalists were announced and a few former Pittsburgh Steelers were among them.

There is still another round of cuts to go before the final balloting occurs on Saturday, January 31st, 2004 in Houston, TX, the day before the Super Bowl.  25 players will be whittled to 15 by mail ballot, which will be announced in mid-January.

Former NY Giants LB Harry Carson and league executive George Young are carry-over finalists from last year.  They are automatic finalists thanks to finishing in the top six in voting for 2003.  Also assured of surviving the final cut are OT Bob Brown (Eagles, Rams and Raiders) and WR Bob Hayes (Cowboys and 49ers), as a result of their nominations by the Hall of Fame's Senior Committee. 

11 out of the following 23 will be up for induction to the 2004 Pro Football Hall of Fame:

Cliff Branch
WR - 1972-85 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Jim Marshall
DE – 1960 Cleveland Browns, 1961-79 Minnesota Vikings

Richard Dent
DE – 1983-93, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles

Art Modell
Owner – 1961-95 Cleveland Browns, 1996-present Baltimore Ravens

Carl Eller
DE – 1964-78 Minnesota Vikings, 1979 Seattle Seahawks

Art Monk
WR – 1980-93 Washington Redskins, 1994 New York Jets, 1995 Philadelphia Eagles

John Elway
QB – 1983-98 Denver Broncos

Barry Sanders
RB – 1989-98 Detroit Lions

Randy Gradishar
LB – 1974-83 Denver Broncos

Donnie Shell
S – 1974-87 Pittsburgh Steelers

L. C. Greenwood
DE – 1969-81 Pittsburgh Steelers

Ken Stabler
QB – 1970-79 Oakland Raiders, 1980-81 Houston Oilers, 1982-84 New Orleans Saints

Russ Grimm (Current offensive line coach of the Pittsburgh Steelers)
G – 1981-91 Washington Redskins

Steve Tasker
Special Teams/WR – 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-97 Buffalo Bills

Ray Guy
P – 1973-86 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Roger Wehrli
CB – 1969-82 St. Louis Cardinals

Cliff Harris
S – 1970-79 Dallas Cowboys

Ralph Wilson, Jr.
Owner – 1959-present Buffalo Bills

Lester Hayes
CB – 1977-86 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Rayfield Wright
T – 1967-79 Dallas Cowboys

Claude Humphrey
DE – 1968-74, 1976-78 Atlanta Falcons, 1979-81 Philadelphia Eagles

Gary Zimmerman
T – 1986-92 Minnesota Vikings, 1993-97 Denver Broncos

Bob Kuechenberg
G – 1970-84 Miami Dolphins


While former Steelers L.C. Greenwood and Donnie Shell survived this round of cuts, S Mike Wagner did not.

Fans of the Cleveland Browns may be wondering which team owner Art Modell would enter under, if he would be elected.  Modell moved the franchise from Cleveland to Baltimore for the start of the 1996 season.  Modell finally tasted Super Bowl victory in January of 2001, but as owner of the Baltimore Ravens.

Steel City Insider Top Stories