Two Steelers Named AFC Player Of The Week

Quarterback Ben Roethlisberger of the Pittsburgh Steelers, linebacker James Farrior of the Pittsburgh Steelers and punter Brian Moorman of the Buffalo Bills are the AFC Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Players of the Week for games played the sixth week of the 2004 season (October 17-18), the NFL announced today.

Offense: QB Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh Steelers

In a thrilling come-from-behind 24-20 victory at Dallas, the Pittsburgh rookie quarterback was 21 of 25 passing (84.0 percent) for 193 yards with two touchdowns without an interception to post a 125.5 passer rating. The 6-5, 240-pounder's completion percentage of 84.0 marked an all-time NFL rookie single-game best with a minimum of 25 passes. Roethlisberger rallied the Steelers from a 10-point fourth quarter deficit by completing his final 11 passes for 88 yards and a touchdown.

The 11th overall selection in the 2004 NFL Draft from Miami (Ohio) is the first AFC rookie to win Offensive Player of the Week honors since Denver running back Mike Anderson in 2000 (Week 14).

Defense: LB James Farrior, Pittsburgh Steelers

Pittsburgh's Farrior notched 2.0 sacks, forced three fumbles, and registered nine total tackles in the team's road win at Dallas. While Roethlisberger led the Steelers on offense, Farrior did the same on defense. The eight-year veteran from Virginia turned in his biggest play with 2:36 left in regulation as Dallas faced a 3rd-and-13 situation on the Steelers' 47-yard line. With the Cowboys leading, 20-17, a blitzing Farrior jarred the ball loose and teammate Kimo Von Oelhoffen recovered for Pittsburgh. The Steelers converted the turnover into a touchdown run by Jerome Bettis five plays later for the game's final and deciding score with 34 seconds to go.

This marks the first career Player of the Week distinction for Farrior.

Player of the Week honors earned by Farrior and Roethlisberger mark the first time that one team accounted for both the AFC's Offensive and Defensive Player of the Week Awards since Kansas City's Joe Montana and Derrick Thomas in Week 2 of 1994.

Steel City Insider Top Stories